In the north –eastern part of Lviv,in the picturesque Shevchenko Grove , covering 59 hectars , found its location an interesting museum , the Museum of Folk Architecture and Rural Life . The exposition of the Museum was inaugurated for visitors in 1972 .
You are here
The Lviv National Museum of Ukrainian Art was founded in 1905. The history of its creation is linked with the extensive democratic movement in Western Ukraine for national and social liberation, and for the Ukrainians' right to their own culture. A leading role in the foundation of the museum was played by Ivan Franko, artist Ivan Trush, ethnographers Volodymyr Hnatyuk, Filaret Kolessa and others as well as by Illarion Svientsitsky, the museum's first director, an eminent Slavist, art historian and specialist in the theoretical and practical aspects of running a museum.
We are at the entrance of the Pharmacy Museum located at the corner of Stauropegiyska and Drukarska Streets. This building was constructed in the 17th century. On the facade of the building you can see two bas-reliefs. They depict Aesculapius, the Greek god of medicine, and his daughter Hygiene, the Greek goddess of health. And now let's enter the museum and get acquainted with some of its exhibits. Lviv pharmacists were first mentioned in the chronicles in the 13th century. Constance, the wife of prince Leo, founded a hospital and a pharmacy at the Monastery of the Dominicans.
At the end of the 19th c. the necessity of forming a historical museum in Lviv became imminent. A historian and collector Aleksander Czoiowski became the bearer of this idea and put it into practice. Being the director of a small building of ancient acts registry, he accumulated there municipal and guild relics. That was the beginning of the future historical museum; it was informed about in a special Testimonial of the 22nd of December, 1892. In May, 1908 on the initiative of A.
The museum is placed in two buildings in the writer's own house, built in 1902 in 4, Poniriski Street (152, Ivan Franko Street now) and in the neighbouring house (150, Ivan Franko Street now). Ivan Franko (1856-1916) belongs to the most outstanding Ukrainian cultural workers of the late 19th - early 20th c. He was a writer, an interpreter (he knew 14 languages), a scientist, a publicist, a public political figure, a man of encyclopaedic knowledge. Forty years of Franko's life passed in Lviv. In 1902 Franko managed to build his own house in Sophiyivka suburb.
The history of Lviv is closely connected with the names of outstanding cultural workers: composers, musicians, singers. A famous Ukrainian opera singer Solomiya Krushel'nyts'ka (1873-1952) takes proper place among these names. Her lyric-dramatic soprano of unmatched beauty was the voice of three octaves range and the unique phenomenon in the history of opera art. Her creative destiny let her appear in different countries of the world, sing on the most prestigious stages. She was called "unforgettable Aida", "the only in the world Gioconda", "the ideal Brunhild", "the charming Cio-Cio San".
Opened in the premises of Ukrainian Medical Society in 3, U. Karmelyuk Street, telephone 76-97-98. Is opened from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Saturday and Sunday are days off). The museum amounts to about 5 thousands exhibits. These are the materials on the history of Lviv Medical University, medical instruments and wares; M. Panchyshyn memorial room can be seen. In "Lvivshchyna" sector two estates and a church are already prepared for exhibiting.
The Pharmacy Museum - 2, Drukars'ka Street; tel.: 72-00-41. Opening hours from 9 a.m to 7 p.m.; on Saturday and Sunday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Founded in 1735 the pharmacy exists in this house since 1775. In 1966 a museum was opened here, reconstructed and extended in 1985. It amounts to over 8 thousand exhibits. The halls of the main building* are decorated with wall paintings of Vienna masters of the early 19th c. with stained-glass windows of the 19th c, sculptural busts of medicians of the past.
It is one of the most significant museums of Ukraine, the reserves of which amount to over 130 thousand units of keeping. The collection was laid in 1905 as a private foundation by the Metropolitan Andrey Sheptyts'kyi, named "The Church Museum". Icon-paintings, which numbers four thousand units kept, are the substance of the collection. An important one is the collection of folk sacral sculpture. It is unrivalled in quality and artistic values. At the same time the museum funds keep masterpieces of European artists too: Pinsel, Polejowski, Filevych and others.
The Museum of Lviv Ancient Relics is the Lviv Art Gallery department. It was formed in 1993 as the result of many years' investigations of one of the oldest sacred places of Lviv - the Church of St. John the Baptist. The shift exhibition of the museum is devoted to the works of art, sacral relics, historical documents, archaeological godsends which relate to the most ancient period of Lviv. The icon of the mid-14th c. - "Lviv Virgin and Child"* (temporarily kept in fund) is one of the most valuable exhibits. The museum is opened every day, except Monday, from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
In 1996 in the former Poor Clares Church there was opened the Museum of Lviv Sacral Baroque Sculpture "Johann Georg Pinsel Creative Work". At the end of the 1750s he created the sculptural ensemble on St. George Cathedral in Lviv, worked in Lviv St. Martin Church, in Monastyrys'ka in Ternopil region. The altar from the church of Hodovytsya village near Lviv*** is the brightest work as concerns the emotional influence. In 1761 the sculptor died. The sculptor's creative work is a remarkable phenomenon in the history of Ukrainian and moreover - the world culture.
The new exhibition of the Museum of Book presents Ukrainian incunabula where one can see works of Ukrainian medieval publishers, printers and engravers. Several unique publishings of the Renaissance and the Baroque times represent European printings. The third exhibition hall reflects the atmosphere of the medieval printing place with special authentic elements of the room and two unique machines: a printing press of the 17th c* and a page-press. The museum is opened every day, except Monday, from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The "Rusalka Dnistrova" Museum and the monument to Markiyan Shash-kevych (D. Krvavych and M. Posikira, the sculptors, V. Dubinina and M. Fedyk, the architects) were opened on the 15th of September, 1990. Markiyan Shashkevych (1811 -1843) was a famous poet, writer, interpreter. He was the inspirer of the first book in Ukraine, written in popular language and in Ukrainian alphabet - "Rusalka Dnistrova" ("Mermaid of Dnister"). The exhibition of the "Rusalka Dnistrova" museum - is placed in the bell-tower of the Church .of the Holy Spirit which is the architectural relic of the 18th c.
The Lviv Art Gallery (called the Lviv Picture Gallery till the fourth of February 1998) is the biggest artistic museum of Ukraine where unique works of painting, sculpture, graphic, decorative-applied art of West and East European countries from the Middle Ages to modernity are collected. The total number of exhibits of the collection is over fifty thousand. At the beginning of 1907 the collection of West European art by I. Yakovych, Ukrainian sugar magnate was bought by means of town council.
Among Ukraine's museums, the Lviv History Museum is one of
the oldest and richest in historical artefacts and cultural relicts. Its displays
help visitors visualise and trace the historical past of the town of Lviv and
the lands of Galicia from olden times to modern days.
The Museum's collections are housed in buildings Numbers 4,
6, 24 Rynok Square. These buildings house arhitectural monuments of the 16th,
17th, and 18th centures.